Drama – Why Men Secretly Love It

Who likes drama? I mean really, who?

Urban Dictionary Definition – Drama:

“A way of relating to the world in which a person consistently overreacts to or greatly exaggerates the importance of benign events.”

The person who creates the drama is not only stirring the proverbial pot but also they are triggering emotions in other people. For the most part those emotions tend to be negative.

When you first meet someone what do you want to see? A happy person or sad person with intense emotions that change every 5 minutes? You would think this is self-explained but is it?

A normal person is usually guarded when they meet someone new. They try to portray themselves as happy and positive. If anything negative comes about it might be anger but usually about something small like work or the car breaking down. Anger in small doses seems to be acceptable. That being said, if you only see someone being happy and “pissed off”, what would you think of that person?

I’m going to use myself for this. Duh. Since I’m the one I know best. I recently wrote about a man coming back into my life and then finding out that I was yet again, a rebound. I was so happy to hear from again then really pissed off when I realized what was up. Then, other emotions reared it’s head. I felt hurt and sadness. I didn’t let that man know I felt the last ones. I didn’t want him to think I was all “drama” for feeling that way.

Why not? They were legitimate feelings. Why shouldn’t I share them? And why do I keep having men come back to me as a rebound?

While having a conversation with my guy friend of mine and he said, “Why wouldn’t they want to hang out with you, you’re fun!” My friend had a point there. They want to forget the negative they just left and have some fun. I’m not speaking sexually since most of these men I was never physical with.

While thinking about all of this and letting it circle repeatedly. The thought occurred to me, yes, I may be fun but perhaps I am emotionally boring to them.

Here is something interesting:

Urban Dictionary Definition – Passion:

“Passion is when you put more energy into something than is required to do it. It is more than just enthusiasm or excitement, passion is ambition that is materialized into action to put as much heart, mind body and soul into something as is possible.”

…………does that description not sound a lot like Drama? Emphasis on the fact that more energy is being exerted in the creation process.

Lack of passion = lack of drama….but we like passion don’t we? I’m pretty sure men do to.

Think about it and tell me your thoughts in the comments. Am I totally off here or may I be on to something?

2 Comments

Filed under Dating, Love, Single, Trust

2 responses to “Drama – Why Men Secretly Love It

  1. Tony

    I think you are absolutely right. I say I don’t like drama either, yet I’m referring to the “teen drama” that my daughters talk about for the most part, although, it is amusing to hear their “problems”… I find it amazing to see and hear how similar their situations are to when I was younger. I like it when a woman gets a little hissy and over emotional no and then. I think what guys don’t like in a woman and refer to their drama as a Paris Hilton type, or Kim Kardashian. You know those types are out there… Make sense?

    • Kim K and Paris drama I think is more “high maintenance” than drama. I think what you touched on is that you like a woman who will keep you guessing a bit..not just a cookie cutter reaction all the time.

Leave a Reply for me!

