Part 1: Mr. Multiple Underlying Issues

I was going to hold off on writing this post in hopes of salvaging a friendship. Sadly, the person I’m going to write about gave me the “go ahead” by telling me off via text message. It was unprovoked and quite juvenile.

Let’s start at the start:

Over the last 8 months or so (he said the last year so not sure) I had been contacted more than once by man who lives in Ottawa. This is approximately 3 hours from where I live. He had an interesting profile and he looked decent. We would chat a bit on Plenty of Fish(POF) but I would always dismiss him politely saying the distance was just too far. He would always joke that I should move there.

I’m going to call him Sam so I don’t have to keep calling him “this man.” Over the Christmas holidays Sam and I had started having brief chats again. Nothing too serious.

It’s New Years Day and my last guest had just left. I was thankful that the festivities from the night before did not leave me as hung over as I should have been. I decide I’m bored and feel like going on a road trip. I have a friend in Kingston (an hour away) who I have stayed with from time to time. I figured I would head in that direction and see what happens. I packed a backpack with my hair and tooth-brush as well as a change of clothes. I got in my car and drove.

It was then that I got a “Happy New Year” message from Sam on POF. My phone is equipped with speech to text so I was able to tell him that I was having a road trip and heading in his direction. Somehow I got it into my head to drive the 2hrs passed Kingston to Ottawa to meet Sam. I think it might have been the fact that it was a new year, new people, new…something. Or maybe I was trying to finally get Mr. Feeble Heart out of my system.

When I stopped for gas I sent my phone number to make speech to text easier. We arranged to meet at pub style restaurant to have dinner and drinks. I arrived a little after 6pm. I was thankful that Sam looked like his pictures after that long drive. We sat there and had a great conversation for over 3 hours. I liked him right away. It’s not very often someone can actually have a conversation!

It was about 9:30pm when Sam politely suggests that he doesn’t think I should drive home so late. To make a longer story short, I didn’t go home. I took his invitation to stay at his place. We watched Ted (hilarious btw) and talked even more. I may have taken the spirit of “new things” a little too far in that he didn’t sleep on the couch as originally planned. I was very pleasantly surprised in this department. 😛

The next day I left around noon as I had to work at 7pm. In my head I’m thinking that I’ll probably never hear from him again because…well…the night before…and we had just met…yeah…some regrets there. I was happily wrong.

He blasted my phone with texts in a good way from the time I said I was home until halfway through the night while I was at work and he finally went to bed. I was off the following weekend and we made plans for him to come to my home. The texts never felt like too much or too little. Just the right amount of communication. While he was here I made him dinner and we attended an OHL game for my local team (he’s a huge hockey fan). Despite the distance things seemed to be clicking very well….or so I thought.

My birthday was coming up in a couple of weeks and it was planned that I would come to his place for the weekend since my kids would be away. In that two-week wait we texted up a storm about what we would do. Everything from possibly skating on the canal, shopping and going out to a pub to watch the his favorite NHL team play their first game (as the NHL lockout was finally over). The only odd thing at that point was him suggesting we attend the Ottawa POF event the Saturday night. He said he had gone to one the month before and thought it was “pretty cool.” I initially said no but changed my mind as I thought perhaps I could write a review on it….of which I did here.

Needless to say I was very excited for this weekend……

Click HERE for Part 2 as this post is getting rather long.

1 Comment

Filed under Dating, Love, OKCupid, Online Dating, POF, Single

One response to “Part 1: Mr. Multiple Underlying Issues

  1. Pingback: Review: Oshawa POF Event – Whiskey John’s | Another Single Woman's Blog

Leave a Reply for me!

